Day 8: ‘Twas The Night Before Christmas

12days-day8

During my 12 Days of Holiday Sweaters venture, I’ve only mentioned the older sister. But, as many of you know, I am the middle sister of three girls.

Not wanting to leave my little sister out of my holiday fun, my older sister helped oversaw the creation of a holiday sweater made specifically for the little sister. My guess is the majority of you (and those that see the sweater in person) won’t know who the character is nor how it’s related to Christmas — so let me explain.

One of the best decisions my parents ever made was to record (on VHS) a series of holiday shorts on CBS. Every year since then, it’s been a family/sisters tradition to watch these shorts, which we refer to as Holiday Specials. My favorite holiday special, Santa Bear, inspired my Christmas stocking. My older sister’s favorite special is A Garfield Christmas, which depicts our two family dogs to a T. And, my little sister’s favorite special is Twas the Night Before Christmas. My older sister and I firmly detest this one, but the little one is persistent. She is also convinced that 3 Men and A Baby is Tom Selleck’s gift to mankind, but that’s another story…

Paying tribute to her favorite holiday special, the little sister’s holiday sweater is of Albert, the mouse who almost ruined Christmas.

albert

 

When she received this sweater in the mail (and it was a total surprise to her), she immediately texted the two of us, “That sweater. YESSSSSS please.” And she went on to say, “I only wish I could wash it so I could wear it more often.”

tracy

 

I still don’t see the appeal in the holiday special (nor will I ever), but as long as she likes the sweater and I only have to watch the 25-minute special once a year, it doesn’t make me any difference.

One thought on “Day 8: ‘Twas The Night Before Christmas

  1. […] and creativity, I can’t. Some of the sweaters are based on personal connections (Days 2, 5, 8, 10), others were inspired by images I saw on Pinterest, which I pinned to my holiday sweater […]

Leave a Reply

