It’s beginning to look a lot like Chirstmas

The Boy and I recently celebrated our official anniversary (you know, the anniversary of when he asked me to be his girl…). To celebrate, I told him that we’d be having date night and that he needed to reserve an entire evening for me—and a surprise activity. And that was all the details I gave him.

Our reserved date night came and I unveiled our surprise activity: decorating Christmas stockings!

StockingsToDecorate

Knowing The Boy wasn’t going to be as excited as I was about decorating stockings, I made it easier on both of us by printing out templates of our favorite Christmas characters for us to work from.

Using these templates, The Boy crafted a Charlie Brown stocking,

CharlieBrown

I created a Santa Bear stocking,

SantaBear

and together we made a Rudolph stocking for Mocha Jo.

MochaJo

Surprisingly, he was a better sport about it than I imagined he would be. In fact, I would even dare to suggest he had fun.

TheBoyAtWork

The only thing The Boy didn’t do for himself was the gluing. When he told his mom that, she said something about if he didn’t do the gluing, he didn’t really make the stocking. Personally, I think she’s wise woman and I completely agree, but since I subjected him to an evening of arts and crafts, I figured the least I could do was help him with the glue.

After we he polished off the Christmas staple of slice-and-bake style cookies, we left our stockings to dry.

Drying

Now they hang on our wall, and we eagerly deem our stocking adventure a success.

AllThreeOnWal2

Because our stockings turned out better than even I expected, we’ll eventually use iron-on letters to add our names, but until my holiday shopping is done, that will just have to wait.

3 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look a lot like Chirstmas

  1. Vanessa says:

    I miss you! Nice socks 🙂

  2. […] which we refer to as Holiday Specials. My favorite holiday special, Santa Bear, inspired my Christmas stocking. My older sister’s favorite special is A Garfield Christmas, which depicts our two family […]

  3. […] you may recall, I kept myself pretty busy during December. After crafting holiday sweaters, making stockings, holiday shopping for both the family I “adopted” and my own family, and doing a few […]

Leave a Reply

