Day 30: Running In Place

Miles, run: .5
Miles, walked: 2.25
Miles to date: 77.6

Today was a bad day for Janathon because it put the nail in my coffin. As of yesterday’s totals, the friendly wager between Caryn and I was close — Caryn was leading me by just one quarter of a mile. Seeing these totals, I thought this would be an interesting race to the finish line. But then, the snow hit…

This morning, I woke up to half a foot of snow. Being born and raised in South Dakota, snow has never really phased me much and it still doesn’t, except when I have to run in it. Knowing it would be a rough run with sore hips and a snow-covered trail, I bundled up and braved the 21 (feeling like 4) degree air.

Like I expected (and quite understandably), the trails had yet to cleared.

2013-01-30_08-34-05_22

And, also as I expected there weren’t very many foot prints of early-morning runners that I could follow. In fact there was only one set of foot tracks, and I’m convinced a giant left them because my stride was barley half that of the tracks. I am also convinced these tracks were left by a giant because running through half a foot of snow is like doing high knees for an extended period of time — and no one except a giant could have that large of a stride in that deep of snow. Seriously, I was in over my ankles and struggling to get foot clearance.

2013-01-30_08-41-11_331

Due to the difficulty of running in the snow, I only accomplished one half of a mile, which was really disappointing to my hope to chip away at the five miles left between me and my Janathon goal of 80 miles. Anyway, I gave into Mother Nature’s cruel hand and went on my day.

Unfortunately, today was the day my hips officially decided they’ve had enough. Standing while coaching on Sunday, 8 miles on Monday and 5 miles on Tuesday left my hips vulnerable, but the cold air from today pushed me over the edge. It started with sharp, shooting pains in my left hip (which was particularly concerning since my right hip is the problem one), and it continued on throughout the day. It hurts to walk. It hurts to stand. It hurts to sit. It hurts to wear a belt.

Bound and determined, however, to meet my personal goal, I braved the cold once again for a walk over the noon hour. It was still cold. It was still windy. It was still slick out. And my hips worsened with every step. But, I am 2.25 miles closer to my 80-mile mark. Only, 2.4 miles to go — but the question is, can my hips do 2.4 miles tomorrow?!

Right now, I feel like I’m damned if I do, damned if I don’t because I can give one final push and beat Caryn but cause my body a lot of pain or I can meet my personal goal of 80 miles and lose the bet.

Given that I signed up for Janathon for myself, and the wager with Caryn was just extra incentive, I’m going to be good to myself. I’m going to hit my 80 miles (even if I have to crawl) and call it good. I would love to win our friendly wager, but I would also like to be able to walk on February 1…

10 Years – Running In Place

Leave a Reply

