Day 21: People are strange

Miles: 2.5
Miles to date: 48.75

With my phone telling me it was only 12 degrees Fahrenheit out (feeling like -2 degrees) and snowing, I was expecting a cold, miserable run. However, that wasn’t the case. Instead, I found my run to be tolerably cold and, surprisingly, peaceful. The light snowfall helped set the peaceful tone, but the fact that I didn’t cross paths with anyone (which is somewhat out of the ordinary), created a sense of reflective solitude.

Among many other things, I found myself thinking about people. In addition to my own relationships, two things  prompted me to think about people and how people change.

First, and oddly enough, a Liberty Mutual Insurance commercial that I saw this weekend came to mind.

The line that really stuck out to me was “Even when we cross our t’s and dot our i’s, we still run into other problems, namely, humans.” While I presume the line was intended for humor, my recent state of mind latched onto it, archiving it for later use.

Watching the movie on Saturday night, the second thing that prompted my thoughts about people was a particular scene in Bridesmaids (sorry for the poor-quality clip, that was all I could find on YouTube).

Also presumably intended for humor, the clip got me thinking about how people change — and how that affects relationships, platonic or romantic.

College and grad school are a time of immense change, and time where a lot of people come in and out of your life. In my sixth and final year of higher education, it’s almost overwhelming to think of all the people that have found their way into my life, however, I’m more interested in how these people have influenced me, whether intentionally or unintentionally.

How people change and personal growth is a fascinating concept to me. Personally, I am on an eternal quest of self-growth. I consciously reflect on how events, people and time change me. I also think about who I want to become as a person, as well as what it will take for me to get there.

I sometimes wonder, however, how other people perceive personal growth, if they even acknowledge it at all. Having talked to some of my family and close friends about this, I know other people actively pursue self-growth, like me, but I also know that others don’t really think about it — which makes me curious about what makes one embrace or ignore the concept of personal growth.

While I would love to know how others perceive  the answer to this, I don’t think I ever will because of the complexity of humans and ours brains. I guess I’ll just have to continue along my own journey of self-growth and accept that people are strange.

The Doors – People Are Strange

One thought on “Day 21: People are strange

  1. […] term the family uses). It helps that the middle is experiencing a similar mood (you can definitely tell she’s my sister…) but what’s difficult is that on top of feeling frustrated with the world, it’s […]

Leave a Reply

