Day 10: You get what you give

Miles: 2.75
Miles to date: 23.65

It took yesterday’s bad run and ten days for me to lose my enthusiasm for Janathon.

I’m not saying I’ve been excited about all my runs this month, but mentally, it was really hard convincing myself to run today. I laid in bed for quite some time this morning trying to justify running after work instead of before work. Deep down, however, I knew that if I didn’t run before work, I wasn’t going to run today — and it is far too early to give up on Janathon. Plus, I don’t want to give Caryn the satisfaction of winning. So, I begrudgingly rolled out of bed to go running, knowing full well that it’d make me a little late for work (talk about commitment…).

The run itself was good, much better than yesterday’s run, but it is my motivation and inner dialogue that need a serious pep talk. As my Mom would say, I need to “lose the ‘tude” because if I let myself gripe and complain about Janathon, I’m in for a long 21 days.

During the last mile of my run, and after scolding myself for being so anti-Janathon, I laid the facts out for myself. I signed up for this challenge, and if I’m too proud to let Caryn beat me, then I better get my poop in a group and commit. I’ve got 21 more days of running/walking, and if I’m really committed to Janathon, I need to put in the extra effort and make the time worthwhile. With two-thirds of the challenge left, I have plenty of time to become a better runner, feel the health benefits of getting a good workout everyday, and maybe even lose a few pounds. Realistically, there are more benefits than drawbacks to my participation in Janathon, but it’s up to me to achieve those benefits. Like the New Radicals say, you only get what you give.

New Radicals – You Get What You Give

3 thoughts on “Day 10: You get what you give

  1. Caryn says:

    Ahem, you have 21 days left. 31 days has January.

  2. Noob says:

    Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

