One magnificent Monday (yes, I did say Monday)

I’m not a morning person….no wait, let me rephrase that. Unless I have no where to be or nothing to do, I am not a morning person. When I get up for work or school, I am not a happy camper. I’m a grouch that, when approached, either grunts an answer or scowls (given my normally oh-so-pleasant demeanor, that comes as a huge shock, right?). Anyway, back to what I was saying…I’m typically not a morning person, and like most other people, Monday is not my favorite day of the week. Thus, on Monday mornings, it’s really best for everyone to avoid me until I’ve had my fair share of coffee.

This Monday morning, however, was a different story. I woke up in a really good mood. So, there I was, Monday morning, pre-shower and pre-coffee, in a good mood. How is this even possible I wondered. I go about my morning routine, and as I’m about to leave for work, I get a text message from a co-worker. “Fyi .. I have tomatoes for you,” she said.

OHHHHH BABY!! My unnaturally good Monday became fantastic by these mere virtual words. I finished getting ready, jumped on Lil’ Red and rode to work, daydreaming of the salsa that will become of these tomatoes.

You know those times when what you get is better than what you expected and you’re pleasantly surprised? Take that times 10, and that’s how I felt when I saw the box of tomatoes sitting on my work desk.

In my head I imagined small flat of tomatoes – enough to make salsa, but not many left over. Much to my surprise, however, this flat of tomatoes (from The Country Pumpkin, where my co-worker has familial connections) was enough to make a lot of salsa and then some.

I was sooo excited about my future consumption of tomatoes that I couldn’t fully focus at work (okay, let’s be honest, that’s not too atypical for a summer Monday…). But seriously, all I could think about were these beautiful, juicy tomatoes sitting so close to me.

Deciding enough was enough, I called it a day at three, at which point, I had a miniature panic attack. I didn’t expect this many tomatoes. How was I supposed to tote these precious gems all the way across town? Fret not, because my wonderful roommates bought me a luggage/storage box for Christmas. After this realization, I debate a little longer about whether this was my best option. After all, I didn’t want these tomatoes bouncing around and becoming mush due to the slightest (and obvious) bumps along my way. I considered riding home to get my car, but that option would have sucked up nearly 40 minutes of my precious salsa-making time. In the end, I reasoned that even if some cracked, split or bruised along the way, it was okay. These tomatoes were being cut up for salsa, not displayed in a trophy case (although they probably could have been…). So I loaded up 2/3 of the tomatoes and headed home.

The tomatoes and I made it home, and only a handful burst (I actually think I heard one — yes, through the hard, plastic case — when I hit a ridiculously large bump). Now normally, I buy all my salsa ingredients at a farmer’s market, but being that it was Monday and no markets were readily available to me — dire times call for drastic measures, people — I made a quick grocery store run.

Once I was finally home with all my ingredients, the magic started. After about an hour of cutting, chopping and food processing (thanks to my Pampered Chef Manual Food Processor), I had my coveted salsa.

Oh baby, is my salsa good. Fresh, spicy and non-chunky. Just the way I like it.

Up to that point, I didn’t think my Monday could have been any better, but then the boy and I made chipotle chicken and shrimp with linguine for dinner. It was pretty phenomenal, if we do say so ourselves (yes, I know, the meal needs more color, but all my fresh produce was used in the salsa!).

But, moral of this long-winded story? Mondays can be magnificent – they may be few and far between, but when they’re good, they’re fantastic. 🙂

2 thoughts on “One magnificent Monday (yes, I did say Monday)

  1. dakotalizzie says:

    Save some salsa for me, por favor!!

  2. […] Columbia this weekend for a much-needed visit and with the promise of homemade salsa. She made her first batch of the season a few weeks ago and I’d been craving it ever since. Bright and early Saturday morning, we ventured to the […]

Leave a Reply

