Best. Weekend. Ever.

I had an absolutely, fantabulous weekend. A weekend so great that I took Monday morning off of work so I could attempt to catch up on sleep. And even though I am still a little sleep deprived and I spent a little more money than I should have, I would do it all again at the drop of a hat. And, what makes my weekend even better is that it actually started on Thursday night…

The beginning was actually an end: Thursday
Thursday night, my childhood came to an end, as it did for a lot of the world. If you are unaware (and shame on you if you are), Thursday night (technically Friday at 12:01 AM) was the final midnight release of the Harry Potter movies.

Since fourth grade, I have been a Harry Potter freak. Aside from the first two books, I read every book within four days of its release and have attended every movie on they day of the release. As I was just a pre-teen when the first movies came out I did not attend the midnight showings, but you can bet your bottom that my parents got my sisters and I excused from school to attend before the mad after-school rush.

Thursday night was rather bittersweet because it was the end of the Harry Potter era, but the movie was so g-darn amazing that I didn’t care I had to go to the movie by myself (since I was out of town for work) or that I only got 4 hours of sleep before having a full day ahead of me.

You can sleep when you are dead: Friday
Even with a lack of sleep, I powered through the second day of a 2-day meeting/mini-conference and drove myself halfway across Nebraska to a Goo Goo Dolls concert.

The venue sells refillable glasses, which are pretty appealing because you can bring them into other summer concerts. However, as flood waters are approaching the concert area, the bartenders sales pitch heeds warning: “You can use them through the end of the summer, or until the river gets us, whichever comes first.”

For my readers not located in the states, or in the Midwest, there is currently a flood plaguing seven states. Here’s how close the venue should be to the river:

Here’s where it is now:

It’ll be interesting to see if the river gets them first.

Despite the mid-90s temperature and the 75% humidity, my friends and I made sure to keep ourselves hydrated (with some adult beverages) and we were able to put aside our outdoor-concert discomfort and enjoy the show.

Me, Amber, Andrea

As we are children of the late-90s we were happy to hear some Michelle Branch:

And, of course, the Goo Goo Dolls.

Throughout the concert, we were subjected to some light rain. Immediately after the concert, we endured a short steady rain, which you can see on the lenses of our sunglasses.

Yes Corey Hart, we wear our sunglasses at night too.

And saving the best for last: Saturday night.
As I previously mentioned, I grew up in the 90s. Ipso facto, I used to crush still crush on boy bands.

Either by contractual agreements or desires to make a comeback, several boy bands have recently reunited and are touring. Earlier this month, my friend and I discovered that New Kids on the Block (NKOTB) and the Backstreet Boys (BSB) were going to Kansas City, Missouri. Shortly after that, we purchased tickets.

My older sister lives in Missouri, so I invited her as well because, you see, she used to be a little obsessed with boy bands. And, when I say obsessed, that’s a kind way of saying she was a boy band freak. I mean, just look at how her bedroom used to be decorated. (Notice, Nick Carter of BSB dominates her wall.)

So, after a solid night’s sleep, my friend and I road-tripped down to KC, MO where we saw NKOTBSB at the Sprint Center.

Going into the concert, I wasn’t sure what to think. Throughout the entire concert, I thought, “Hmm, this is strange. I feel like I’m 12 going on 22 because I’m drinking at a BSB concert.”

I will admit, being a die-hard BSB fan as a kid, I went to the concert namely for BSB.

Yes, you counted right, there are only four. Kevin decided not to tour. But, Nick Carter did, and his performance moved my older sister to tears. No joke.

But, I left the concert as a NKOTB fan.

And, I discovered I have a huge crush on I am infatuated with Donnie Wahlberg of NKOTB.

If only I could have caught the tank-top he ripped off his body…

Much to my surprise, the NKOTBSB concert was phenomenal. Seriously, it was well worth every penny and second I invested into attending. The concert was so great, we considered following them to their next location. But alas, our weekend had to come to an end.

As such, my friend and I headed home and jammed out to NKOTB’s Summertime. Trying to learn every word, we listened to it, on repeat one, from Topeka to Nebraska City, or approximately 26 times over. Sure, this might seem appalling and ridiculously annoying, but we can’t help it…our childhoods dictated that we live and breathe boy bands.

One thought on “Best. Weekend. Ever.

  1. […] In the meantime, I’m going to continue enjoying my taste of summertime  – and I might mention I got to see this song performed live! […]

Leave a Reply

