Our first home project

In addition to Juneathon and unpacking from my recent move, my roommates and I have been busy renovating (for lack of a better term) an old entertainment center I found in my parents basement.

It’s from the late 80s/early 90s, as evidenced by it being particle board with a wood laminate. Perhaps not the highest quality, nor the best looking, but hey it does the job.

Here it is in 1993.

I’m the one in a pink turtleneck and pink windpants, if you care. DakotaLizzie is in the white t-shirt and hot pink windpants, and The Tracinator is nearest the camera.

Then, fast forward about 18 years and here it is again on May 16, 2011 – in a storage room in my parents basement.

Note that the glass door on the left side has been removed (presumably broken). And yes, that is an orignal Nintendo. Unfortunately, it is not in working condition.

Like I said, it’s not the most attractive looking thing, but it gets the job done. With the help of my older sister, I loaded this up in my car and brought it down to Lincoln, NE. And so, in our “spare” time, my roommates and I sanded it,

primed it,

and painted it.

We’re very much impressed with our work, especially when we compare it to the scrapped pieces…

All in all, I say it’s a job well done. But the best part is that we can finally watch TV upstairs!

The TV is also a recovered object from my parents basement. Gotta love free stuff!

3 thoughts on “Our first home project

  1. […] the old entertainment center that I gave a facelift a couple of years […]

  2. […] even more fitting is that it looks eerily similar to the entertainment center the middle upgraded just a few years ago (and thank goodness she already knew what she was doing!) before turning it […]

  3. […] repurposed an old school entertainment center that my parents had tucked away in their […]

Leave a Reply

