College? Check.

Graduation is an interesting thing.

When I graduated from high school four years ago, I felt like I hit a huge milestone in my life. Finally, the Sioux Falls Public School system didn’t own my life, and I was going to be free from my parents’ reign. Life was good. Graduation was awesome.

Recently, I graduated from college. With one school transfer, four official major changes, three awesome internships, zero all nighters and more roommates than I’d like to admit, I graduated with a Bachelor’s of Science in four years. Despite this major accomplishment, I don’t feel any different.

Granted I chose not to walk at graduation nor did I have an open house, graduating from college seemed a lot less exciting than graduating from high school.

Part of this feeling (or lack thereof) is due to the fact that I am going to graduate school at the same university and I’ll be working for the same office. I am excited about taking classes unrelated to nutrition, and I really enjoy where I work, but I imagined graduation would feel different. I thought I would feel smarter or walk a little taller with my college degree.

But alas, I don’t.

Instead, graduation made me realize not how smart I am, but how wise I have become.

I’m sure if I (the college-graduate Andrea) could meet the high school-graduate Andrea, I would slap her silly for being so naïve. But it is gratifying to know I turned out all right, after all.

Congratulations, to me.

– – – –

“Education is an admirable thing, but it is well to remember from time to time that nothing worth knowing can be taught.” – Oscar Wilde

One thought on “College? Check.

  1. runtezza says:

    Congratulations! Well done to you and your peers, and hope the graduate work goes well.

Leave a Reply

