Loosey goosey

Distance: 2.79 miles — 1 of these miles was walking

Today I was sore. Everything hurt and I couldn’t, for the life of me, hold my core together. Having absolutely no coordination, I simply felt like a fish flopping around on dry land.

As I was gearing up for my run today, I decided – given my condition – to take it slow, which I did. I only got 1.5 miles before I was wiped. I thought about pushing through it so I could rack in miles, but then I heard the advice of a fellow Janathoner. Yesterday, Mike commented on my post: “Just listen to your body/legs. It can be fun to bump up mileage, but your legs might revolt!” Considering the sore state I was in, he was quite right, and I needed to listen to my body.

Because I can’t stand just walking on the treadmill for very long, I did work in a couple speed intervals. Sure, they were weak and I probably shouldn’t have done them, but I wanted mileage. Regardless, I’m hoping my body appreciates that I went easy today and is geared up for some distance tomorrow. I’ve got 10.5 miles to go and tomorrow is a day I have time to log some miles.

3 thoughts on “Loosey goosey

  1. mike says:

    That was unintentionally prophet commenting yesterday.
    I just pictured myself a few years ago, running miles sometimes because I simply COULD and then finding a few new vocab words like, “Overuse Injuries.”
    No worries. That 10.5 doesn’t stand a chance!

  2. shazruns says:

    I’m with Mike overuse injuries are a a noun not needed in you vocab at the moment, well done for listening to your body and good luck for day 28

Leave a Reply

