To count or not to count

Distance: 2.25 miles

I’m torn. Not muscularly, thankfully, but mentally. For my Janathon mileage count, am I supposed to count my post-run walking distances?

The pre-run walk is not an issue because I always reset the treadmill when I stop to stretch. And, I generally count my mid-run walking, because my short legs can only carry me so far for so long. Plus, it seems like too much work to remember the distance walked and subtract it from the total distance.

Obviously, I’m not concerned about pre- and mid-run walking distances; it’s the post-run walking that really makes me wonder. Technically Janathon is jog everyday, log everyday and blog everyday. So it appears you only count your actual running distance.

However, Janathon’s rules say, “you must run or do some form of exercise every day.” By this rule, I should count my post-run walking distance (which would definitely help my overall mileage). But…herein lies the bigger problem: I’m not at all consistent about including my post-run walk. After every run, I walk for about 5 minutes to cool down. Somedays (meaning the days I actually run well) I think I’m justified in including the post-run distance. Other days (the days have a terrible run or put in little effort), I refuse to let my walking distance pad my overall mileage.

It’s a tough call, and I don’t want to be considered a cheater. But I just don’t know what to do. For now, because I’m a terribly indecisive person, I think I might just remain on the fence about this one.

P.S. In case you were wondering if I am sore today (due to my outdoor running on concrete yesterday), I’m actually not as bad off as I anticipated. My hip was a little agitated, but nothing I couldn’t run on.

Leave a Reply

