Day 13: Not only am I walking, I’m still running

Distance: 2.25 miles

Today, for the first time since I downloaded it in August, I listened to a free sample from AudioFuel. When I first started it, I didn’t think I’d enjoy it much, but I actually did. I enjoyed it enough that I am considering purchasing a couple of tracks. However, because I enjoy my own music selection too much, AudioFuel could not be an every run sort of deal for me, but I think it could really help on days I would rather not be running. Kudos to AudioFuel for helping us run to the rythym.

On another note, it’s day 13 of Janathon, and I am seriously surprised that I am even still walking. Not to play a pity card here, but at the age of 15, my doctor prescribed me arthritis medicine. Unfortunately for me, the medicine was soon taken off the U.S. market as it was cited for increasing the risk of heart attack and stroke. I gave another arthritis medicine a try, but it didn’t seem to do the trick. Not wanting to try different brands or be reliant on medicine so early in my life, I decided to grin and bear the pain. Normally my knees and hip don’t cause much pain, but when I consistently run or when cold weather stikes, a 90-year-old, osteoarthritic woman can walk better than me.

This past summer I was in the habit of running every other day, on gravel trails mind you, and I was constantly in pain. Granted my pain may have been from the softball beer league I played in, but nonetheless, I was in pain. (Just ask the office I interned with; I think I showed up with a new injury every week.) Having struggled with an every-other-day routine, I thought 31 consecutive days of running might land me a walker, or at the least, a cane. But here I am, almost halfway through the month, and relatively pain free. Now excuse me, I must go knock on some wood in the event I just jinxed myself.

One thought on “Day 13: Not only am I walking, I’m still running

  1. shazruns says:

    Glad you still running, well done

Leave a Reply

