January Gyms

Distance: 2 miles   —  included a some walking

I hate having a gym membership in January. New Year’s resolutions only cause lines at the gym. My sister and I went to the gym around 7:30 this evening, and not only was someone on my treadmill (yes, my treadmill), but someone was on every machine. Rather than go in an putz around until a machine opened up, my sister and I took a little drive to the Anytime Fitness on the other side of town. Turns out though, that because we just a have a 4-week membership, our keys don’t work at any other Anytime Fitness. So, locked out of this gym, we turned around and headed back to our Anytime Fitness, where all the machines were still in use.

A little agitated, I decided, hell, it’s Anytime Fitness, I’ll just come later. Temporarily blowing off the gym, I headed over to my friends for a mini high school reunion. About an hour later, I returned to the gym and I guess third time is a charm because one (but not mine) of the four treadmills was open. By the time I finished my short warm-up and stretching, my treadmill had opened up. And so my ran began.

My run started off fine and dandy, but then as I neared the mile mark I could feel my legs starting to weaken. By the time I got to 1.5 miles, I seriously contemplated quitting early. But, rather than quit, I walked for 30 seconds. When I returned to a decent jogging speed, my legs turned to Jell-O. On any other training plan, I might have said “suck it up and finish” but there was this little voice saying, “don’t forget you have 28 days yet, don’t overdo it.” So I walked the last one-tenth of my 2-mile jaunt, reasoning that I should save my legs for later in the month.

While I’m somewhat disappointed in tonight’s run, I can’t say I expected any better. Many other Janathon blogs mentioned soreness kicking in, so I know it’s not just me. Besides, there’s no shame in walking.

Leave a Reply

